Anxiety

It starts as a swirling,

A tingle in my teeth.

It grows into a trembling,

Rising from beneath

my clenched and twisted hands,

Fingers intertwined to keep me safe.

A force squeezes my heart,

I recognise the signs. Too late.

A burning in my lungs

like I’m breathing fire into this thing.

My breath catches, shallow

My mind begins to sing.

But not with happiness

with negativity,

With evil thoughts and words.

My voice is lost, drowned out.

My soul cannot be heard.

Breaking down my spirit,

Feeding on my calm,

Pushing me closer to the edge,

Raising my internal alarm.

Doubt becomes my long lost cousin.

Fear my only friend.

This tornado of effects keeps building.

I fear it will never end.

Anxiety is my shadow

lurking where others cannot see.

No one knows, it’s always watching,

Hiding. Invisible. Inside of me.

I can’t find a way to defeat it,

As it tries to crush my soul.

But I battle. Every. Single. Day.

To keep it under control.

This entry was posted in poetry, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment